Guidelines for awarding Ashok Chakra

Ministry of Defence
Guidelines for awarding Ashok Chakra
Posted On: 10 JUL 2019 by PIB Delhi

Following guidelines are laid down for awarding Ashoka Chakra:

The Ashoka Chakra shall be awarded for most conspicuous bravery; or some act of daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice otherwise than in the face of the enemy.
The persons eligible for the Ashoka Chakra shall be:
Officers and men and women of all ranks of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force, of any of the Reserve Forces, of the Territorial Army, Militia and of any other lawfully constituted forces.
Members of the Nursing Services of the Armed Forces.
Civilian citizens of either sex in all walks of life and members of Police Forces including Central Para-Military Forces and Railway Protection Force.
The names of the persons to whom Ashoka Chakra has been awarded during the last five years and current year are as under:

Year* Names of Ashoka Chakra Awardees
2014 Major Mukund Varadarajan, The Rajput Regiment/44th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)
2015 Naik Neeraj Kumar Singh, Rajputana Rifles/57th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)
2016 1. Lance Naik Mohan Nath Goswami, 9th Battalion The Parachute Regiment (Special Forces) (Posthumous)
2.  Havildar Hangpan Dada, The Assam Regiment/35th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)
2017 NIL
2018 Corporal Jyoti Prakash Nirala, Indian Air Force (Security) (Posthumous)
2019 Lance Naik Nazir Ahmad Wani, Bar to Sena Medal, The Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry/34th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (posthumous)

 *Year of announcement of award.
This information was given by Raksha Rajya Mantri Shri Shripad Naik in a written reply to Shri Harish Dwivedi in Lok Sabha today.
Source : PIB

Leave a Comment

सोलहवें वित्त आयोग के लिए संदर्भ-शर्तों को मंजूरी